River Rising

Commissioned by Cambridge Philhamonic Orchestra and String & Fader
Written for Andie Tanning Springer and Lilit Hartunian
violin, stereo sound, and live electronics
8 minutes
available on Music from SEAMUS Vol. 25

Purchase the music ($20)
includes score (PDF) and rehearsal/performance materials
View perusal score.

Program note: River Rising is an elegy to those who have lost friends, family, livelihoods, and communities—sometimes an entire existence that can never be recovered—to unexpected tragedy. The hopelessness and horror that tsunamis, hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, war, illness, climate change, and other catastrophic forces may bring seem surreal, having never lived through anything like this firsthand. I wanted to take a moment to reflect on being overwhelmed entirely by situations beyond our control that may only be endured together. Special thanks to Mary Kouyoumdjian for letting me play and sample her beloved Siran.