for piano quartet
11 minutes

Purchase the music ($30)
includes score and parts (PDF)
View perusal score

performed by the Kolot Ensemble
Véronique Mathieu, violin
Jung-Min Shin, viola
Yotam Baruch, cello
Yael Manor, piano

at the 2009 American Composers Alliance Festival
Symphony Space, New York

Program note: The title (pronounced /ker'fa/) means "disappear" or "vanish" in Icelandic, but the word also has connotations of revolution, spiraling, and change. I had this image of a long winter's journey in my mind, as well as the theme so commonly found in Scandinavian short stories that the forest and sea are places of (super)natural danger. If one chooses to go venturing, one may or may not return (and who knows what mischief one may meet along the way).